9 States In Nigeria With 41.3 Million Subscribers May Experience Telecom Blackout

According to news, residents or visitors of the following states may soon experience Telecommunication blackout, Nasarawa, Benue, Enugu, Anambra, Edo, Ondo, Ekiti, Kwara, Niger , Kogi states and some part of Abuja.

This followed the forceful shut down of facilities in Kogi State, due to disputes arising from unusual taxes and levies demanded by the state government.

The payments, which are driven by the Kogi State Internal Revenue Service (KIRS), are for the Ministry of Environment and Physical planning, Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources, and Kogi State Environmental Protection Board.

In the 10 affected states we have over 41.3 million subscribers which will be affected by the telecom blackout. Government, in pursuant of revenues, closed down some critical telecommunications sites belonging to service providers.

The issue started with the closure of three sites by Kogi States Govt, “but as at the weekend, the closure had affected 70 sites while 150 sites were already down as at yesterday.”

The action will jeopardize communication services to security agencies, banks in the affected areas, the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) and other critical agencies of government.
RaphBlog.Com.NG. Powered by Blogger.